As part of its elaborate plan to always be the leading Technical University in the country and also continue to be in contention globally, Kumasi Technical University has constituted a seven-member committee to develop a strategic plan. The five-year plan which replaces the previous one is to help direct the affairs of the University so as to catapult it to become a world-class university.

The Committee is made up of renowned academics with Dr. Emmanuel Newmann of National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) as the Chairman. The other members are Dr. George Afrane, Prof. Gabriel Dwomour, Mr. Isaac Owusu Ansah, Mr. Michael Kumi and Dr. (Mrs.) Adwoa Benewaa Brefo Manu with Mr. Osei-Wusu Bempah as member-secretary.

The Vice-Chancellor of Kumasi Technical University Ing. Prof. Nana Osei-Wusu Achaw in constituting the Committee, charged the members to work extra hard to ensure that the document is completed in time. He encouraged the Committee to further ensure that the strategic plan can be owned by the University Community. He again urged them to make sure that all stakeholders are consulted for results-oriented plan.

The Vice-Chancellor stated that “in essence, I want the strategic plan to be participatory, workable and understandable by the entire University Community as well as the public. Other Key Officers of the University who were present included Prof. Mike A. Acheampong (Pro. Vice-Chancellor) Mr. Ebenezer Kofi Boakye (Registrar), Mr. James Osei-Brobbey (Acting Director of Finance) and Mr. Divine Komla-Sekyere (Director of Works) among others.

In their acceptance speech, Dr. Emmanuel Newmann who is Research and Planning Consultant expressed the Committee’s eagerness and willingness to do a diligent work for the University.

Public Relations Office